Netherlands win 2011 IBAF Baseball World Cup
Dutch National Team celebrates 2-1 win over Cuba in the championship game

PANAMA CITY, Panama--The Netherlands have won the 2011 IBAF Baseball World Cup by defeating Cuba 2-1 in the championship game on Saturday evening at Rod Carew Stadium in Panama City. It is the first world title ever for the Dutch national team.

Bryan Engelhardt and Jonathan Schoop answered a sac fly by Alfredo Despaigne with a pair of RBI singles to get the team from head coach Brian Farley in front. Rob Cordemans pitched 7 1/3 two-hit innings for the win. The final game of the tournament was delayed by four hours due to rain.

Earlier on the day the bronze medal game between Team USA and Canada had to be canceled and third place was awarded to Canada due their better standing in the second round according to Rule C12 of the IBAF Competition Rules.

Final Standings:
1) Netherlands
2) Cuba
3) Canada*
4) USA*
5) Australia
6) Korea
7) Venezuela
8) Panama
9) Dominican Republic
9) Italy
9) Puerto Rico
12) Japan
13) Chinese Taipei
14) Nicaragua
15) Germany
15) Greece

*due to rule C12 of IBAF official norms

Individual Awards:
Leading Batter: Rusney Castillo (CUB)
Pitcher Best ERA: Tom Stuifbergen (NED)
Pitcher Best W-L Average: Miguel Lahera (CUB)
Most Runs Batted In: Curt Smith (NED)
Most Home Runs: Wuilliuans Vasquez (VEN)
Most Stolen Bases: Jordan Danks (USA)
Most Runs Scored: Jose Macias (PAN)
Outstanding Defensive Player: Yulieski Gourriel (CUB)
Most Valuable Player: Curt Smith (NED)

All Star Team:
Starting Pitcher: Hyoun Taek Oh (KOR)
Relief Pitcher: Yadier Pedroso (CUB)
Catcher: Damaso Espino (PAN)
First Baseman: Jose Abreu (CUB)
Second Baseman: Joe Thurston (USA)
Third Baseman: Chang Min Mo (KOR)
Shortstop: Jonathan Malo (CAN)
Outfielder: Rusney Castillo CUB)
Outfielder: Tom Brice (AUS)
Outfielder: Conception Rodriguez (PAN)
Designated Hitter: Fernando Seguinol (PAN)