Japan repeats as Women’s Baseball World Champion
Led by Tournament MVP Yukari Isozaki Japan shuts out USA 3-0 in Gold Medal Game

Edmonton (Canada). Japan has won the V IBAF Women’s Baseball World Cup in Edmonton, Canada. They shut out Team USA 3-0 in the Gold Medal Game on Sunday evening at Telus Field. It is their third straight title. The United States had won twice in tournament history.

Player of the day and the Most Valuable Player of the tournament was Japan’s starting pitcher Yukari Isozaki. The right-hander threw a complete game for the second consecutive day and kept the American bats in check all game. She issued just seven hits and two walks in seven scoreless innings, baffling the USA lineup with breaking ball after breaking ball. She struck out four.

Her teammates provided the necessary run support in the third inning. With two outs they loaded the bases against USA’s starter Jennifer Hunter, who had given up just one hit all tournament prior to the Gold Medal Game. However she wasn’t as sharp as usual and hit Yuki Kawabata with a pitch to force in the first run of the contest. One batter later RBI leader Yukiko Kon came through with a two-run single down the right-field line, building up the 3-0 score.

This was the last time either team scored and Japan closed it out for the victory. The United States threatened in the seventh to come back, but with the tying run at the plate a groundout ended the game and started the celebrations.

Earlier in the afternoon Canada had won a high-scoring affair 17-13 against Australia to capture the Bronze Medal. Venezuela finished fifth, Chinese Taipei sixth, the Netherlands with their first win internationally got into seventh and Cuba had to settle for eighth.

During the closing ceremony the awards were given out and the All Star Team was announced. Yukari Isozaki was named Most Valuable Player, Best Pitcher Win-Loss and best Starting Pitcher. Tamara Holmes of Team USA received the leading hitter trophy.

Final Standings

1) Japan
2) USA
3) Canada
4) Australia
5) Venezuela
6) Chinese Taipei
7) Netherlands
8) Cuba

Individual Awards

Leading Hitter: Tamara Holmes (USA)
Pitcher Best ERA: Lauren McGrath (AUS)
Pitcher Win-Loss Average: Yukaria Isozaki (JPN)
Most Runs Batted In: Yukiko Kon (JPN)
Most Home Runs: Nicole Luchansky (CAN)
Most Stolen Bases: Bronwyn Gell (AUS)
Most Runs Scored: Shae Lillywhite (AUS)
Outstanding Defensive Player: Ayako Rokkaku (JPN)
Most Valuable Player: Yukari Isozaki (JPN)

All Star Team

Best Starting Pitcher: Yukari Isozaki (JPN)
Best Relief Pitcher: Ayami Sato (JPN)
Catcher: Stephanie Savoie (CAN)
First Base: Kate Psota (CAN)
Second Base: Nicole Luchansky (CAN)
Third Base: Christina Kreppold (AUS)
Shortstop: Ayaka Deguchi (JPN)
Outfield: Iori Miura (JPN)
Outfield: Jenna Flannigan (CAN)
Outfield: Hsiao Mei Chen (TPE)
Designated Hitter: Tamara Holmes (USA)

Follow the V Women’s Baseball World Cup on, Facebook and Twitter.

The Gold Medal Game and the Closing Ceremony was streamed live on YouTube and will be available as video on demand.

(From IBAF Website)